"BRIEF HISTORY OF PAOAY ILOCOS NORTE"
Paoay’s
former name was
Historians say: “From the date of early settlement to 1701,
little could be said about the activities of the early settlers of Paoay
except that much had been done in the clearing of the forests nearby. They
converted the forests into rice and sugar lands through the slash-and-burn
method called ‘kaingin.’ The early settlers were of a peace-loving tribe,
but their major problem was the frequent furious incursions of Sea Rovers and
Moro pirates called Tirong who looted indiscriminately their agricultural
produce and other valuables. To protect themselves from further incursions, the
folks moved towards the nearby inland where the present town proper is now
located. In the farther western inland, there were also settlers who formed the
neighboring town of
“The first inhabitants might have come from
“The last two settlers established their permanent homes at
the present site of the town proper because the location was best suited for
their personal convenience and protection from the marauders. Hence, the site
was accessible to the barrios where they cleared for farming, namely: Burit,
Monte, Paratong, Tamurong, Tigui, Madamcao, Baramban, Lang -Ayan, Lioes,
Tarangutong, Lubbot, Currimao, Gaang, Pias, Maglaoi, Anggapang, Comcomloong,
Dalayab, Puritac, Cubol, Burayoc, Nagtriguan, Ullaleng, Buangga, Cabaruan,
Tugay, Maburiac, Liliputen, and Sacritan. Most of these barrios are now
adjudicated to the towns of Pinili, Currimao, and Batac which became
municipalities in 1920 and 1921, respectively.”
To cite the characteristics and traits of its people,
Paoayenos (called the people of Paoay) are by nature industrious,
thrifty, intrepid, daring, individualistic, peace-loving, adventurous,
hospitable, and religious people.”
St. Augustine
MALACAÑANG
OF THE NORTH Built as the official
residence of then President Marcos in Ilocos Norte, overlooking the legendary