"BRIEF
HISTORY OF BURGOS
ILOCOS NORTE"
Burgos
was formerly named Nagparitan (paritan means to prohibit). The natives
prohibited people from neighboring places to migrate to the place.
The Spaniards called it Nagpartian (parti means to butcher).
Nagpartian means a place where an animal was butchered, because the natives of
the place butchered a Spanish priest.
In 1913, the town was renamed
Burgos
in honor of Father Jose Burgos. This was by virtue of an act passed by
the Philippine Legislature through the effort of Hon. Santiago Fonacier, who was
then the representative of the first district of Ilocos Norte.
Burgos
has a heritage structure called the Cape Bojeador Lighthouse, also known
as Burgos Lighthouse. It is the highest-elevated lighthouse in the
Philippines
and the northwesternmost in location (the northeasternmost being Cape Engaņo
Lighthouse in
Palaui
Island
,
Santa Ana
, Cagayan). It was established on March 31, 1892 under the Spanish government on
a high hill overlooking the scenic
Cape
Bojeador
, where galleons passed by. Its purpose is also to guide ships away from the
rocky coasts of the town. It still continues to operate with new lenses run by
solar panels.
Access to the lighthouse is through a two-lane narrow
concrete road that starts at the north side of the
Maharlika Highway
, just after passing a bridge. From there the road winds and climbs up a steep
hill. Upon arrival, visitors climb a flight of concrete stairs to the perimeter
wall, which offers a good view of the
Cape
Bojeador
and
South China Sea
. To enter, the caretaker should be notified. Upon entering the courtyard, one
can see two antique buildings on both sides and two more on the foreground.
Climbing the terrace of the first building, you will pass by a short dark
corridor to get to the foot of the stairs leading to the tower. Another steep
flight of stairs leads to the entrance/exit door of the tower. To climb to the
lens room, where a certain number of people are only allowed to do so one at a
time, you will climb an antique spiral staircase to the top.
The majestic lighthouse can also be seen from as far away as
Pasuquin town in the south and
Bangui
on the east on a clear day. The octagonal stone tower, being the most prominent
structure in the light complex, is 65 feet (20 meters) high. It is recommended
to visit in the months of November to January, when the cold winds from winter
China
are felt throughout the normally hot Ilocos Region.